Annie John

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Accelerated Reader:
IL: UG - BL: 5.9 - AR Pts: 7
Lexile measure:
1130L
Description

Annie John is a haunting and provocative story of a young girl growing up on the island of Antigua. A classic coming-of-age story in the tradition of The Catcher in the Rye and A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man, Kincaid's novel focuses on a universal, tragic, and often comic theme: the loss of childhood. Annie's voice--urgent, demanding to be heard--is one that will not soon be forgotten by readers.

An adored only child, Annie has until recently lived an idyllic life. She is inseparable from her beautiful mother, a powerful presence, who is the very center of the little girl's existence. Loved and cherished, Annie grows and thrives within her mother's benign shadow. Looking back on her childhood, she reflects, "It was in such a paradise that I lived." When she turns twelve, however, Annie's life changes, in ways that are often mysterious to her. She begins to question the cultural assumptions of her island world; at school she instinctively rebels against authority; and most frighteningly, her mother, seeing Annie as a "young lady," ceases to be the source of unconditional adoration and takes on the new and unfamiliar guise of adversary. At the end of her school years, Annie decides to leave Antigua and her family, but not without a measure of sorrow, especially for the mother she once knew and never ceases to mourn. "For I could not be sure," she reflects, "whether for the rest of my life I would be able to tell when it was really my mother and when it was really her shadow standing between me and the rest of the world."

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780374525101
9780452263567
9780099773818
9780374105211
9781982435318
Accelerated Reader:
UG
Level 5.9, 7 Points
Lexile measure:
1130L
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID b56d7e5c-e362-bbf6-342e-629a0e3269da
Grouping Title annie john
Grouping Author kincaid jamaica
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2019-09-03 22:34:35PM
Last Indexed 2019-09-18 22:53:50PM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level UG
accelerated_reader_point_value 7
accelerated_reader_reading_level 5.9
auth_author2 Miles, Robin.
author Kincaid, Jamaica.
author2-role Miles, Robin.
hoopla digital.
author_display Kincaid, Jamaica
available_at_el East Lyme Public Library
detailed_location_el East Lyme Public Adult Fiction
display_description Jamaica Kincaid presents a haunting and provocative story of a young girl growing up on the island of Antigua. An adored only child, Annie has until recently lived an idyllic life. She is inseparable from her beautiful mother, a powerful presence at the very center of the little girl's existence. Loved and cherished, Annie grows and thrives within her mother's benign shadow. Looking back on her childhood, she reflects, "It was in such a paradise that I lived." When she turns twelve, however, Annie's life changes in ways that are often mysterious to her. She begins to question the cultural assumptions of her island world; at school she instinctively rebels against authority; and most frighteningly, her mother, seeing Annie as a "young lady," ceases to be the source of unconditional adoration and takes on the new and unfamiliar guise of adversary. At the end of her school years, Annie decides to leave Antigua and her family, but not without a measure of sorrow, especially for the mother she once knew and never ceases to mourn. "For I could not be sure," she reflects, "whether for the rest of my life I would be able to tell when it was really my mother and when it was really her shadow standing between me and the rest of the world." A classic coming-of-age story in the tradition of The Catcher in the Rye and A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man, Annie John focuses on a universal, tragic, and often comic theme: the loss of childhood. Annie's voice, urgent, demanding to be heard, is one that will not soon be forgotten.
format_category_el Books
format_el Book
id b56d7e5c-e362-bbf6-342e-629a0e3269da
isbn 9780099773818
9780374105211
9780374525101
9780452263567
9781982435318
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:.b14139170 .i57564553 Branford/Blackstone Adult Fiction FIC. 1 false false On Shelf braf
ils:.b14139170 .i20636660 Guilford YA Fiction YA FIC KINCAID 1 false false On Shelf guy
ils:.b14139170 .i20636659 East Haddam/Rathbun YA Fiction YA FIC KIN 1 false false On Shelf rayf
ils:.b14532505 .i21669788 Norwich/Otis Adult Fiction F KINCAID 1 false false On Shelf nwaf
ils:.b14532505 .i21669715 East Haddam/Rathbun A Fiction FIC Kin 1 false false On Shelf raaf
ils:.b14532505 .i21669752 Guilford Adult Fiction FIC KINCAID 1 false false On Shelf guaf
ils:.b14532505 .i21669818 Wallingford Adult Fiction KINCAID 1 false false On Shelf waaf
ils:.b14532505 .i21669831 Westbrook Adult Fiction F KIN 1 false false On Shelf wsaf
ils:.b14532505 .i21669739 East Lyme Public Adult Fiction KINCAID 1 false false On Shelf elaf
ils:.b14532505 .i47389552 Old Saybrook/Acton Adult Fiction F KINCAID 1 false false On Shelf osaf
hoopla:MWT11667557 Online Hoopla Collection Online Hoopla eAudiobook Audio Books 1 false true Hoopla https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11667557?utm_source=MARC Available Online
ils:.b15569160 .i25731609 Ledyard/Bill Young Adult Paperback YAPB Kincaid 1 false false On Shelf lbyk
ils:.b18024476 .i31626336 Mitchell College Book Stacks PR9275 .A583 K5634 1 false false On Shelf mcg
itype_el ADULT BOOK
ADULT PAPERBACK
YA BOOK
last_indexed 2019-09-19T04:53:50.269Z
lexile_score 1130
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_el KINCAID
owning_library_el East Lyme Public Library
owning_location_el East Lyme Public Library
primary_isbn 9780374525101
publishDate 1985
1986
1997
2017
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:.b14139170 Book Books 1st pbk. ed. English Farrar, Straus, and Giroux, 1997, c1985. 148 p. ; 21 cm.
ils:.b14532505 Book Books English Farrar, Straus, Giroux, c1985. 148 p. ; 22 cm.
hoopla:MWT11667557 eAudiobook Audio Books Unabridged. English Blackstone Publishing, 2017. 1 online resource (1 audio file (4hr., 19 min.)) : digital.
ils:.b15569160 Book Books Other Plume/Penguin, 1986, c1985. 148 p.
ils:.b18024476 Book Books Other Vintage Books, c1997. 148 p. ; 22 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_el
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b14139170 .i57564553 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false 9999
ils:.b14139170 .i20636660 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false 9999
ils:.b14139170 .i20636659 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false 9999
ils:.b14532505 .i21669788 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false 2, 3, 4, 7, 8, 9, 17, 18, 19, 20, 22, 23, 24, 27, 28, 29, 32, 33, 34, 36, 37, 39, 42, 43, 44, 47, 48, 49, 52, 53, 54, 55, 62, 63, 64, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 77, 78, 80, 82, 83, 84, 87, 88, 89, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 101, 102, 104, 107, 108, 109, 112, 113, 114, 115, 117, 118, 119, 120, 121, 122, 123, 124, 125, 126, 127, 128, 129, 130, 131, 132, 133, 134, 135, 136, 137, 138, 139, 140, 141, 142, 143, 144, 145
ils:.b14532505 .i21669715 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false 9999
ils:.b14532505 .i21669752 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false 9999
ils:.b14532505 .i21669818 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false 9999
ils:.b14532505 .i21669831 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false 9999
ils:.b14532505 .i21669739 On Shelf On Shelf true true true false false true 9999
ils:.b14532505 .i47389552 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false 9999
ils:.b15569160 .i25731609 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false 9999
ils:.b18024476 .i31626336 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 120, 121, 122, 123, 124, 125, 126, 127, 128, 129, 130, 131, 132, 133, 134, 135, 136, 137, 138, 139, 140, 141, 142, 143, 144, 145, 146, 147, 148, 149, 150, 151, 152, 153, 154, 155, 156, 157, 158, 159, 160, 161, 162, 163, 164, 165, 166, 167, 168, 169, 170, 171, 172, 173, 174, 175, 176, 177, 178, 179, 180, 181, 182, 183, 184, 185, 186, 187, 188, 189, 190, 191, 192, 193, 194, 195, 196, 197
subject_facet Antigua -- Fiction
Bildungsromans
Domestic fiction
Mothers and daughters -- Antigua and Barbuda -- Antigua -- Fiction
Mothers and daughters -- Fiction
Teenage girls -- Antigua and Barbuda -- Antigua -- Fiction
Teenage girls -- Fiction
title_display Annie John
title_full Annie John / Jamaica Kincaid
Annie John Kincaid, Jamaica.
Annie John [electronic resource] Kincaid, Jamaica.
title_short Annie John
topic_facet Mothers and daughters
Teenage girls