Annie John

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Accelerated Reader:
IL: UG - BL: 5.9 - AR Pts: 7
Lexile measure:
1130L
Description

Annie John is a haunting and provocative story of a young girl growing up on the island of Antigua. A classic coming-of-age story in the tradition of The Catcher in the Rye and A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man, Kincaid's novel focuses on a universal, tragic, and often comic theme: the loss of childhood. Annie's voice--urgent, demanding to be heard--is one that will not soon be forgotten by readers.

An adored only child, Annie has until recently lived an idyllic life. She is inseparable from her beautiful mother, a powerful presence, who is the very center of the little girl's existence. Loved and cherished, Annie grows and thrives within her mother's benign shadow. Looking back on her childhood, she reflects, "It was in such a paradise that I lived." When she turns twelve, however, Annie's life changes, in ways that are often mysterious to her. She begins to question the cultural assumptions of her island world; at school she instinctively rebels against authority; and most frighteningly, her mother, seeing Annie as a "young lady," ceases to be the source of unconditional adoration and takes on the new and unfamiliar guise of adversary. At the end of her school years, Annie decides to leave Antigua and her family, but not without a measure of sorrow, especially for the mother she once knew and never ceases to mourn. "For I could not be sure," she reflects, "whether for the rest of my life I would be able to tell when it was really my mother and when it was really her shadow standing between me and the rest of the world."

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780374525101
9780452263567
9780099773818
9780374105211
9781982435318
Accelerated Reader:
UG
Level 5.9, 7 Points
Lexile measure:
1130L
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDb56d7e5c-e362-bbf6-342e-629a0e3269da
Grouping Titleannie john
Grouping Authorkincaid jamaica
Grouping Categorybook
Last Grouping Update2020-02-21 20:02:01PM
Last Indexed2020-02-23 23:11:31PM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_levelUG
accelerated_reader_point_value7
accelerated_reader_reading_level5.9
auth_author2Miles, Robin.
authorKincaid, Jamaica.
author2-roleMiles, Robin.
hoopla digital.
author_displayKincaid, Jamaica
available_at_elEast Lyme Public Library
detailed_location_elEast Lyme Public Adult Fiction
display_descriptionJamaica Kincaid presents a haunting and provocative story of a young girl growing up on the island of Antigua. An adored only child, Annie has until recently lived an idyllic life. She is inseparable from her beautiful mother, a powerful presence at the very center of the little girl's existence. Loved and cherished, Annie grows and thrives within her mother's benign shadow. Looking back on her childhood, she reflects, "It was in such a paradise that I lived." When she turns twelve, however, Annie's life changes in ways that are often mysterious to her. She begins to question the cultural assumptions of her island world; at school she instinctively rebels against authority; and most frighteningly, her mother, seeing Annie as a "young lady," ceases to be the source of unconditional adoration and takes on the new and unfamiliar guise of adversary. At the end of her school years, Annie decides to leave Antigua and her family, but not without a measure of sorrow, especially for the mother she once knew and never ceases to mourn. "For I could not be sure," she reflects, "whether for the rest of my life I would be able to tell when it was really my mother and when it was really her shadow standing between me and the rest of the world." A classic coming-of-age story in the tradition of The Catcher in the Rye and A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man, Annie John focuses on a universal, tragic, and often comic theme: the loss of childhood. Annie's voice, urgent, demanding to be heard, is one that will not soon be forgotten.
format_category_elBooks
format_elBook
idb56d7e5c-e362-bbf6-342e-629a0e3269da
isbn9780099773818
9780374105211
9780374525101
9780452263567
9781982435318
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:.b14139170.i57564553Branford/Blackstone Adult FictionFIC.1falsefalseOn Shelfbraf
ils:.b14139170.i20636659East Haddam/Rathbun YA FictionYA FIC KIN1falsefalseOn Shelfrayf
ils:.b14139170.i20636660Guilford YA FictionYA FIC KINCAID1falsefalseOn Shelfguy
ils:.b14532505.i21669831Westbrook Adult FictionF KIN1falsefalseOn Shelfwsaf
ils:.b14532505.i21669715East Haddam/Rathbun A FictionFIC Kin1falsefalseOn Shelfraaf
ils:.b14532505.i21669818Wallingford Adult FictionKINCAID1falsefalseOn Shelfwaaf
ils:.b14532505.i21669788Norwich/Otis Adult FictionF KINCAID1falsefalseOn Shelfnwaf
ils:.b14532505.i21669739East Lyme Public Adult FictionKincaid, Jamaica (Annie)1falsefalseOn Shelfelaf
ils:.b14532505.i21669752Guilford Adult FictionFIC KINCAID1falsefalseOn Shelfguaf
ils:.b14532505.i47389552Old Saybrook/Acton Adult FictionF KINCAID1falsefalseOn Shelfosaf
hoopla:MWT11667557Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11667557?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online
ils:.b15569160.i25731609Ledyard/Bill Young Adult PaperbackYAPB Kincaid1falsefalseOn Shelflbyk
ils:.b18024476.i31626336Mitchell College Book StacksPR9275 .A583 K56341falsefalseOn Shelfmcg
itype_elADULT BOOK
ADULT PAPERBACK
YA BOOK
last_indexed2020-02-24T06:11:31.503Z
lexile_score1130
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_elKincaid, Jamaica (Annie)
owning_library_elEast Lyme Public Library
owning_location_elEast Lyme Public Library
primary_isbn9780374525101
publishDate1985
1986
1997
2017
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:.b14139170BookBooks1st pbk. ed.EnglishFarrar, Straus, and Giroux, 1997, c1985.148 p. ; 21 cm.
ils:.b14532505BookBooksEnglishFarrar, Straus, Giroux, c1985.148 p. ; 22 cm.
hoopla:MWT11667557eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridged.EnglishBlackstone Publishing, 2017.1 online resource (1 audio file (4hr., 19 min.)) : digital.
ils:.b15569160BookBooksOtherPlume/Penguin, 1986, c1985.148 p.
ils:.b18024476BookBooksOtherVintage Books, c1997.148 p. ; 22 cm.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_el
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b14139170.i57564553On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse9999
ils:.b14139170.i20636659On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse9999
ils:.b14139170.i20636660On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse9999
ils:.b14532505.i21669831On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse9999
ils:.b14532505.i21669715On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse9999
ils:.b14532505.i21669818On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse9999
ils:.b14532505.i21669788On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse2, 3, 4, 7, 8, 9, 17, 18, 19, 20, 22, 23, 24, 27, 28, 29, 32, 33, 34, 36, 37, 39, 42, 43, 44, 47, 48, 49, 52, 53, 54, 55, 62, 63, 64, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 77, 78, 80, 82, 83, 84, 87, 88, 89, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 101, 102, 104, 107, 108, 109, 112, 113, 114, 115, 117, 118, 119, 120, 121, 122, 123, 124, 125, 126, 127, 128, 129, 130, 131, 132, 133, 134, 135, 136, 137, 138, 139, 140, 141, 142, 143, 144, 145
ils:.b14532505.i21669739On ShelfOn Shelftruetruetruefalsefalsetrue9999
ils:.b14532505.i21669752On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse9999
ils:.b14532505.i47389552On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse9999
ils:.b15569160.i25731609On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse9999
ils:.b18024476.i31626336On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 120, 121, 122, 123, 124, 125, 126, 127, 128, 129, 130, 131, 132, 133, 134, 135, 136, 137, 138, 139, 140, 141, 142, 143, 144, 145, 146, 147, 148, 149, 150, 151, 152, 153, 154, 155, 156, 157, 158, 159, 160, 161, 162, 163, 164, 165, 166, 167, 168, 169, 170, 171, 172, 173, 174, 175, 176, 177, 178, 179, 180, 181, 182, 183, 184, 185, 186, 187, 188, 189, 190, 191, 192, 193, 194, 195, 196, 197
subject_facetAntigua -- Fiction
Bildungsromans
Domestic fiction
Mothers and daughters -- Antigua and Barbuda -- Antigua -- Fiction
Mothers and daughters -- Fiction
Teenage girls -- Antigua and Barbuda -- Antigua -- Fiction
Teenage girls -- Fiction
title_displayAnnie John
title_fullAnnie John / Jamaica Kincaid
Annie John Kincaid, Jamaica.
Annie John [electronic resource] Kincaid, Jamaica.
title_shortAnnie John
topic_facetMothers and daughters
Teenage girls